Bepko Community Medallion

The Bepko Community Medallion Award was created by the IUPUI Senior Academy in 2003 to honor a person who has made a significant and ongoing commitment to strengthening the bonds between IUPUI and the larger community. The 3-inch Bepko medallion bears the image of former IUPUI Chancellor Gerald L. Bepko on one side, and the recipient’s name, date and citation on the other side. Recipients also are listed on a plaque in Campus Center 266, a room supported by donations from Senior Academy members.

The Bepko Medallion Award program is a primary activity of the IUPUI Senior Academy with support from the IUPUI Executive Vice Chancellor's Office and the Indiana University Foundation. There is no specific timeline for the award.

The award recient is selected from nominees by a  committee, formed by the Senior Academy Board of Directors, that includes Academy members and IUPUI administration. The committee considers individuals from both inside and outside of IUPUI and pays attention to those that represent campus aspirations to increase diversity.

Access links below to view entries in the Senior Academy archive about each of the past Bepko Community Medallion Award recipients.

Recipients include:

Click here for: 2015 - Charles R. Bantz 

Click here for: 2013 - D. Craig Brater

Click here for: 2011 - George H. Rawls

Click here for: 2009 - Robert Einterz 

Click here for: 2008 -William M. Plater  

Click here for: 2007 - James T. Morris

Click here for: 2003 - Gerald L. Bepko